apphone

App Net'Léman

A participatory tool designed to encourage spontaneous litter collection

Key figures

0
cleanup actions completed on February 2nd, 2021
0 kg
of waste recorded since June 2019
0
users to date
What is the Net'Léman App?

Thanks to the new Net’Léman application, the Association for the Safeguarding of Lake Geneva (ASL) is now able to involve civil society in collecting data on litter in order to understand where it comes from, and to find ways of stemming this scourge.

The new Net’Léman application is intended both for spontaneous collection, during a walk for example, and for a large-scale collection organized by a group of volunteers. It is easy to use and designed to encourage participation by young and old alike. The functions allow you to enter basic data in a few clicks, and to provide additional details if you wish to supply the database with more complete information such as weather, type of soil, type of waste, etc.

Working in collaboration with the HEIG-Vaud, the ASL plans to establish precise statistics to quantify and analyse the flow of waste in the area surrounding the lake. This valuable data will contribute to scientific studies and permit the ASL to refine the targets of our educational and information campaigns, with the aim of reducing the discharge of waste into our environment.

10,000 kg of plastic litter a year ends up in Lake Geneva

In 2011, a study by FOEN, the Federal Office for the Environment estimated the total costs of litter for the whole of Switzerland at around CHF 200 million per year. In the Lake Geneva area, population growth, greater professional mobility, the increased popularity of outdoor activities and other changes in consumption have led inexorably to more litter.

At the end of December 2018, the ASL published a study of the flow of plastic into Lake Geneva. This revealed that nearly 50,000 kg of plastic waste ends up in the lake every year, including 10,000 kg from littering.

At the end of December 2018 the ASL published a  study of the flow of plastic into Lake Geneva. This revealed that nearly 50’000 kg of plastic waste ends up in the lake every year, including 10,000 kg from littering.

As well as it’s role in promoting citizen science, Net’Léman APP is also informational

The Net’Léman App provides the following information for each type of waste:

  • Recycling points closest to your location
  • Ways to reduce waste
  • Key figures and general information

The Net’Léman app makes it easy for everyone to take part in the collective effort of picking up, collecting, sorting, and recycling litter, and to share the results of their ‘harvest’ with everyone else using the app. This means that all participants can see where other cleanups have taken place, and the result of each effort. The app can also provide users with information on how to sort litter, and help them to locate the closest recycling centres. In addition, the app has information and advice on the different types of waste and how to reduce them, plus suggestions for ‘upcycling’ items.

In order to reduce our ecological footprint as much as possible, while at the same time providing better security for users, ASL has opted for PWA (Progressive Web App) technology. The Net’Léman App is hosted and distributed from Switzerland, and the application can be downloaded directly from netLéman.app internet browser instead of going through a “store”. All the data is hosted on Swiss servers owned by a company which is socially and environmentally responsible. Users can save the PWA in their favourites: an icon will appear on the home screen, in the same way as for native applications.

To set up this project in a way which would be socially and environmentally responsible, and involve the participation of as many citizens as possible, the ASL turned to the SIG Impact platform, a new crowdfunding platform which exists to help projects with social or environmental aims to raise money. The campaign was a resounding success, as it raised CHF 57,923.

Since 2005, Net’Léman, the great lake cleanup organized by the AS has collected more than 100,000 kilos of waste, both on land and below the waters of the lake. This has been achieved through the participation of volunteers of all ages and from all walks of life.

Today, the need for action is more urgent than ever. Growing awareness of the scale of waste contamination of natural resources has encouraged many people to become involved in the battle to protect the lake, individually or in groups. In response to this welcome increase in involvement, the ASL has created a mobile application and a cleaning kit, to encourage people to take practical measures and to allow everyone to collect data on the origin of the waste.

Vidéos

We are talking about the APP Net'Léman as far as Ticino!
Gallery
A participatory science app for all
A kit to accompany you in your cleaning actions
Garbage on land can easily end up in the lake. 80% of the waste in the oceans comes from the land
Many volunteers organize spontaneous cleanings
Cleaning is very good, sorting is even better!
By the lake or in the mountains, the Net'Léman APP and it's kit accompany you everywhere
The diversity of objects and materials is large. The effort is important but the game is worth the effort
Previous
Next

Abonnez-vous à la newsletter de l'ASL

Afin de recevoir les dernières nouvelles du lac et de ses affluents.

Mise à jour de vos coordonnées

[caldera_form id=”CF5f3154a643a1a”]

Abonnez-vous à la newsletter de l'ASL

Afin de recevoir les dernières nouvelles du lac et de son bassin.

apphone

App Net'Léman

Un outil de science participative pour encourager les nettoyages spontanés

Chiffres clés

0
actions de nettoyage au 18 mai 2020
0
kilos de déchets ramassés depuis juin 2019
0
utilisateurs à ce jour
L'App Net'Léman, c'est quoi?

La nouvelle application Net’Léman est destinée aussi bien au ramassage spontané, lors d’une balade par exemple, qu’à un ramassage de grande envergure organisé par un groupe de personnes motivées. Facile d’utilisation, elle incite les plus jeunes comme les plus âgés à ajouter leur pierre à l’édifice. Les fonctionnalités permettent de rentrer les données en quelques clics, voire de donner plus de détails et alimenter ainsi la base avec des données très complètes (météo, type de sol, type de déchets …).

En collaboration avec la HEIG-Vaud, l’ASL pourra ainsi établir des statistiques précises afin de comptabiliser et mieux connaître les flux de déchets dans la région lémanique. Ces données précieuses alimenteront des études scientifiques et offriront la possibilité de cibler les actions de sensibilisation et d’information de l’ASL, le but étant de réduire le rejet de déchets dans notre environnement.

10’000 kg de déchets en plastique annuels provenant du littering dans le Léman

Une étude de l’Office fédéral de l’environnement OFEV parue en 2011 indique que les coûts totaux des déchets sauvages s’élèvent, pour l’ensemble de la Suisse, à environ CHF 200 millions par an. Au niveau du bassin lémanique, l’accroissement de la population, la mobilité accrue hors du domicile pour les activités professionnelles et de loisirs, ainsi que l’évolution des habitudes de consommation, ont inévitablement engendré une hausse du volume des déchets sauvages (littering).  

Selon une étude publiée fin décembre 2018 par l’ASL sur la modélisation des flux de plastiques dans le Léman, ce sont près de 50’000 kg par année qui se retrouvent dans les eaux du Léman, dont 10’000 kg de déchets en plastique provenant du littering.

Plus qu’un outil de science participative, une application informative

En effet, l’App Net’Léman permet d’obtenir les informations suivantes sur chaque catégorie de tri :

  • Les points de tri de  les plus proches de votre position
  • Des alternatives pour réduire sa production de déchet
  • Des chiffres clés et des informations  générales

Grâce à l’App Net’Léman, il devient ainsi facile à chacun de collecter, trier et compter les déchets ramassés et de partager le résultat de sa récolte avec toute la communauté utilisant l’application. Ainsi, chaque participant peut-il voir où ont eu lieu les autres nettoyages et les résultats de chaque action. Les usagers auront également à leur disposition un grand nombre d’informations sur le tri des déchets et les points de tri à proximité. Enfin, l’App donnera également des informations sur les différents types de déchets et proposera des solutions de réduction de ceux-ci et d’upcycling.

Afin de garantir une empreinte écologique minimale ainsi qu’une meilleure sécurité pour les utilisateurs, l’ASL a opté pour la technologie PWA (Progressive Web App). L’App Net’Léman est hébergée et distribuée depuis la Suisse. En effet, l’application est téléchargeable directement depuis le navigateur internet netleman.app au lieu de passer par un « store ». Toutes les données sont hébergées sur des serveurs suisses appartenant à une société qui poursuit un développement socialement et écologiquement responsable. L’utilisateur peut enregistrer la PWA dans ses favoris, une icône apparaît alors sur son écran d’accueil, comme pour les applications natives.

Pour donner vie à ce projet, et dans la même logique participative, l’ASL est passée par la plateforme SIG Impact, une nouvelle plateforme de crowfunding qui permet à des projets à vocation sociale ou environnementale de trouver des financements. La campagne a connu un succès retentissant puisqu’elle a permis de récolter CHF 57’923.

Net’Léman, le grand nettoyage du lac organisé par l’Association pour la Sauvegarde du Léman (ASL), a permis depuis 2005 de soulager le lac de plus de 100’000 kilos de déchets grâce à la participation de plongeurs et volontaires à terre de tous âges et de tous horizons.

Aujourd’hui, l’urgence d’agir à l’échelle individuelle pour lutter contre l’abondance des déchets souillant le milieu naturel incite de nombreuses personnes à s’impliquer concrètement au quotidien, seul ou en groupe. Pour répondre à ces initiatives croissantes, l’ASL a créé une application mobile et un kit de nettoyage, afin de faciliter le passage à l’action et permettre à chacun de récolter des données sur la provenance des déchets.

Vidéos

Galerie photos
Une application de science participative pour tous
Un kit de ramassage pour vous accompagner dans vos nettoyages
Au bord du lac ou en montagne, l'APP Net'Léman et le kit de ramassage vous accompagne partout
Précédent
Suivant
Retour haut de page

Abonnez-vous à la newsletter de l'ASL

Afin de recevoir les dernières nouvelles du lac et de ses affluents.

Abonnez-vous à la newsletter de l'ASL

Afin de recevoir les dernières nouvelles du lac et de son bassin.